Monday, March 19, 2012

State Schools Chief Tom Torlakson Creates Task Force to Improve and Expand Use of Classroom Technology

"SACRAMENTO—State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson today announced the creation of the Education Technology Task Force to recommend how to bring 21st century tools into California’s classrooms to improve teaching and learning.

"In creating the 48-member Task Force, Torlakson said he recognized the severe financial limitations currently facing schools, but was establishing the group now so that a plan for making better use of technology would be ready when more resources were available. 

"“Technology is changing nearly every aspect of our lives. But in California—home to Silicon Valley and the world’s leading technology companies—many schools have been all but left out of the technology revolution,” Torlakson said. “If we’re serious about providing our students a world-class education, we need a plan that leaves no school and no child offline.”

Torlakson also discussed the Task Force during the annual Computer-Using Educators Conference held over the weekend in Palm Springs.

A list of members is attached.

"The all-volunteer, unpaid Task Force is comprised of teachers, administrators, technology directors, local and county superintendents, school board members, parents, researchers, policy advocates, and foundation/community members from around the state.

"The Task Force will work in groups led by facilitators to explore education technology in five key areas—learning, assessment, teaching, infrastructure, and productivity.

"Members will assess the state’s current education technology infrastructure and identify gaps between the current National Education Technology Plan and California’s most recent plan, which was approved in 2005. The group also will assess future needs and recommend how to improve teaching, learning, and equal access to technology for all students.

"Creation of the Task Force was among the goals set out in the Blueprint for Great Schools, a report on the future of education in California prepared for Torlakson by his Transition Advisory Team, a group of nearly 60 parents, teachers, and business and community leaders.

"The Blueprint calls for incorporating one-to-one technology as a key component of teaching, learning, and assessment that supports high levels of literacy, bi-literacy, and prepares students for success in the global economy.

"As part of its duties, the Task Force will get input from stakeholders and experts in the field. A Web page also has been created on the Brokers of Expertise Web site for anyone who would like to contribute information, research, and case studies at

"The Task Force is expected to present recommendations to Torlakson to revise and develop a California Educational Technology Blueprint over the next few months, followed by a series of public meetings to gather comments on issues identified by the Task Force.

"For more information on the Education Technology Task Force, please visit the California Department of Education Web site at"
# # # #

Education Technology Task Force Members

Frank Baxter
Jefferies Group, Inc.
Chairman Emeritus
Michael Berg
Central Unified School District
Kenneth Brown
Booz Allen Hamilton
Associate Systems Engineer
Kelly Calhoun
Santa Clara County Office of Education
Assistant Superintendent, Chief Technology Officer
Vanitha Chandrasekhar
Long Beach Unified School District
Education Technology Coordinator
Steve Clemons
San Diego County Office of Education
Assistant Superintendent, Chief Technology Officer
John Cradler
Educational Support Systems
Robert Craven
Fullerton Joint Union High School District
Chief Technology Officer
Shirley Diaz
Glenn County Office of Education
Deputy Superintendent, Educational Services
Andrea Dutton
Chaffey Community College
Program Director, Radiology Technology
Dawn Egan
Lassen Union High School District
Teacher/Categorical Projects
John Fleischman
Sacramento County Office of Education
Assistant Superintendent, Technology Services
Jo-Ann Fox
Escondido Union School District
Teacher, California Teachers of the Year Semi-Finalist
Lisa Gonzales
Santa Clara County Office of Education
Coordinator, Curriculum & Instruction
Brigette Hunley
Brigette Hunley Consulting
John Ittelson
California State University, Monterey Bay
Professor Emeritus
Anjali Kausar
Cupertino Union School District
School Board Trustee
Stephen  Kay
San Jose State University
Assistant Professor
Machelle Kilgore
Pacific Coast High School
Kurt Larsen
Senior Research Associate/Producer
Mike Lawrence
Computer-Using Educators, Inc.
Executive Director
Anne Mallory
Imperial County Office of Education
Nonette Martin
Bassett Unified School District
Assistant Superintendent, Business Services
Chuck McMinn
Steve Midgley
Mixrun LLC
Richard Miller
Riverside Unified School District
Jane Mintz
Oak Park Unified School District
Director, Educational Technology
Barbara Nemko
Napa County Office of Education
Michelle Pacansky-Brock
Mt. San Jacinto College
Online Associate Faculty
Richard Quinones
Los Angeles County Office of Education
Assistant Superintendent, Chief Technology Officer
Rebecca Randall
Common Sense Media
Vice President Education Programs
Marisa Rivas
Digital Edge Learning
Educational Consultant
Ron Rohovit
California Science Center
Deputy Director of Education
Alex Rooker
Communications Workers of America, Local 9400
Director, Government Affairs
Bill Selak
Covina-Valley Unified School District
Ken Shelton
Los Angeles Unified School District
Kevin Silberberg
Standard School District
Brad Strong
Children Now
Senior Director, Education
Hilda Sugarman
Fullerton School District
School Board Trustee
Torrence Temple
Murrieta Valley Unified School District
David Tokofsky
Associated Administrators of LA
Rebecca Wardlow
Ashford University
Glen Warren
Orange Unified School District
Paul Watters
Butte County Office of Education
Director, ROP
John White
Los Angeles Unified School District
School Administrator
Esther Wojcicki
Palo Alto High School
Amy Wong
Silicon Valley Education Foundation
Director, STEM Integration
Alexander Zwissler
Chabot Space and Science Center
Executive Director/CEO

"The California Department of Education (CDE) is a state agency led by State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson. For more information, please visit or by mobile device at You may also follow Superintendent Torlakson on Twitter at and Facebook at"

California Department of Education, Communications Division
1430 N Street, Suite 5602, Sacramento, CA 95814
Main: 916-319-0818 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting            916-319-0818      end_of_the_skype_highlighting; Direct: 916-319-0817 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting            916-319-0817      end_of_the_skype_highlighting; Fax: 916-319-0100

No comments:

Post a Comment